RSS Feed

I miss the things that were never meant to be


An attempt at Spoken Word poetry… a beginning.

I miss the things that never came into being.
Sunrise in your arms,
the aroma of baking bread in that little house with a red tiled roof…our home,
the tug of little hands at my apron…you looking up from your book and smiling at that sight,
that evening when you cooked for me and waited for me to come home from work,
you saying my beauty still left you speechless…you said this the day I gave up on dyeing my hair because it was almost all white.
I miss our growing old together…
and feeling a current even at that age…a current of passion still alive,
and the joy of each other’s company.
Oh I miss the laughter we were supposed to share each night after dinner.
I miss the quilt you never tucked me in in winter nights.
I miss your first pair of reading glasses.
And I miss that walk in New England we were meant to take.
I miss the things that were never meant to be.

About FarahnazZahidi

Journalist, writer, blogger & activist. Currently working for The Express Tribune. Focus on human rights, health, gender, peace & Islam. Idealist. Wannabe photographer. Chaai, traveling, reading, friends and motherhood.

7 responses »

  1. This is beautiful 🙂

    Reply
  2. It touched the heart. Keep up the good work 🙂

    Reply
  3. this read urged me to smile .. thanks for sharing … thoughtful .. 🙂

    Reply
  4. It is really really nice.Very well-expressed inner thoughts i would say =)
    Bravo

    Reply
  5. Beautifully written!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

