RSS Feed

The morning after elections, a letter to my PTI family


The morning after update: My PTI family, I have been getting texts, calls, inboxes. You are asking what I have to say because I am forever the optmist, forever the pacifist.

It’s not making sense, is it?

Some of you are so sad, you vow never to vote & run away from Pakistan. Some are numb. Some wanna give up forever.

To you I say: wake up & re-think. If you were part of Pakistan’s dreamy, immature vote bank, then yes, it’s over for you. I am not. I voted for PTI not because Khan is so hot (which he is) but because of the ideology. With PTI in clear lead in KP, do we understand the impact this could have? Our problems of terrorism need to be countered by sincere leadership from the Frontier, and God has given us that. As a Karachiite, I have grown up in a city where we would be afraid to even whisper the name of the leading party here. Yesterday, we called them by name & fought back where they tried to intimidate us. NA 250 friends, you know what I am saying. This is not to say all “maaloom afraad” are wrong or bad. But any form of oppression must be voiced against & Karachiites did that yesterday, & PTI had a lot to do with that. We mobilized women & youth to vote. And that’s change in itself.

Realistically, other parties, much as we may dislike them, have gone through much more. PPP’s journey has seen genuine jiyalas in jails, in death cells, with most of the Bhutto family assassinated. PML-N: the less said the better. It saddens me that one province decided the fate of the country, though I am Punjabi too. And ideology-wise I disagree with PML-N strongly. But for Pakistan’s sake, I hope that the economy strengthens if nothing else under their rule. Because at the end of the say, it is about Pakistan and what’s best for it. ANP has lost so much this time, & I feel they still will not give up because they have an ideology they believe in.

PTI supporters: We still have a real leader, a cause, a strong position in the parliament and lots to do for Pakistan. So the mature PTI supporter will only get stronger, more mature and politically aware, as will Khan. And the fickle voters will ebb away. Choice is yours.

I am proud to call Imran Khan my leader. And well done PTI.

“Maana k ye sun-san ghari sakht bari hai
lekin mere dil ye to faqat ek ghari hai
himmat karo jeene ko abhi umr pari hai” (Faiz)

imran-khan-fb-cover-timeline-images1

https://www.facebook.com/farahnaz.zahidi/posts/10151490382888318?notif_t=like

About FarahnazZahidi

Journalist, writer, blogger & activist. Currently working for The Express Tribune. Focus on human rights, health, gender, peace & Islam. Idealist. Wannabe photographer. Chaai, traveling, reading, friends and motherhood.

5 responses »

  1. Sad reality is that there has been a move towards regional control. Thats bad for the federation. Also that only 33% of the educated elite who voted, supported PTi. It means 67 % of those educated ones still don’t see the reality. Which means other filters are stronger. Baradari..etc.
    Anyway I tied my love to this country in childhood and remain an optimist. I advise others to remain the same.

    Reply
  2. Ayesha Ahmed

    Very well said Farah. My elusive friend!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply
  3. Farahnaz – Simply great blog. An inspirational piece of writing for us disheartened Insafians. I absolutely loved the triplet from Faiz Ahmed Faiz at the end.

    Reply
  4. Nicely written article. I endorse your views about elections. We did not vote for Imran Khan for a person but for an ideology and the ideology never dies. Hope should not die either. Pakistan is changed already. These 7.8 Million voters might turn the tables next time by multiplying themselves. At the end of the day the interest of our country is supreme not any individual.
    If PTI fails to perform, we won’t vote for them again simple but it should not stop us from taking keen interest in politics. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

