RSS Feed

Of Humsafar’s Repeated Episode…….Who Was Behind This Act of Terror?


It is 8 pm and the fateful date is the 4th of February 2012. It’s a Saturday evening, but the streets of Karachi are unusually empty. The air is heavy with anticipation. Tick tock tick tock. Moments slide lazily. Finally, the moment arrives. The moment for which millions across Pakistan waited the whole week. Quratulain Baloch croons, yet again, “Who Humsafar tha”. Mahira Khan, or Khirad, smiles bashfully as Fawad Afzal Khan, better known now as Ashaar, smiles his way into our hearts with understated passion. Any and every program for the weekend has been put on hold. The women of Pakistan, and even the men under influence of the women in their lives, are having that crescendo moment of the week. Humsafar is about to begin. Will Khizar spill the beans to Ashaar? Will Sara commit suicide? Will Hareem survive the open heart surgery? Will Ashaar finally develop a spine and see reality? The questions are so many and so important.

I am sitting with my cup of tea which I specially held on to, to watch it with “Humsafar”. I am enjoying the scenes unfold till the phone rings. I refuse to take it. It is my cousin. I plan to call her after the episode is over. But her calls gain frantic pace. I pick up. She is screaming in disbelief. “They are repeating the episode!” she says, amidst tears. “What? Let me confirm it,” I say. Another friend confirms it. I open my facebook page. Yes, it’s true. My home page is flooded with status updates full of anger, disillusionment, disbelief and denial.

Some of these (and these are real ones) are:

  • “Ok Hum tv, this is not on! You can’t show a repeat of Humsafar’s previous episode at prime time….. :(”
  • “Not fair…waiting one whole week and they repeat the humsafar episode :(”
  •  “Not fair! I had my dinner table set in front of the tv. It was like pura taraddud kiya and last week’s episode? Grrrr!”
  • “What is going on hamsafar is repeated??????? Why? :(”
  • “They can’t do this to us …. Humsafar :(“

But perhaps the best one was this, from a friend in USA:

  • “Humsafar buddies hosla karain. Kaheen yeh bhi Amreeka ki koi sazish to naheen??”

As people start waking up to the horrible reality, one of them calls the collective suffering “HUM SUFFER!!!”

I realize my good fortune! I had missed the last episode due to a doctor’s appointment. I am enjoying sadistic pleasure out of it, feigning sympathy for my friends. Well, a part of me actually feels for them. But I am relishing the moment. I grab a kinnoo and some chilly chips from the kitchen in celebration, just as the last commercial break approaches. The doctor’s visit saved me the pain.

A running strip on the bottom of the tv screen announces that the channel is apologizing that the episode could not be aired due to “technical difficulties”.

And the stream of conspiracy theories begins flowing. Animated discussions begin. Was this to increase ratings? Is Humsafar playing hard to get to keep the spark alive? Were there issues with the sponsors? Is this a chaal of the extremists? The Talibaan? Are the free masons behind this, if not the US of A?

The official facebook page of Humsafar makes a lame attempt at trying to “make up” by writing “Bicharnay waale mein sub kuch tha, bewafaai na thee”. But no amount of pledges of loyalty and sweet kootchie-cooing is apparently enough to make up for the pain the fans went through.

So the classic stages of grief are in play: Denial, anger and finally resigned acceptance.

What can we do but Sabr. So we all start the waiting game yet again. Once more, we are waiting for next Saturday……for a new glimpse of the intense and dashing Fawad and the stunning miss-goodie-two-shoes Mahira.

Hang in there friends. Next Saturday you will all hopefully sleep happier and more fulfilled. Till then, here is to all the Humsafar fans (all genders included).

About FarahnazZahidi

Journalist, writer, blogger & activist. Currently working for The Express Tribune. Focus on human rights, health, gender, peace & Islam. Idealist. Wannabe photographer. Chaai, traveling, reading, friends and motherhood.

26 responses »

  1. WAH JI …………love it ,nobody could have
    done it better !!!!!!

    Reply
  2. Great job Farah, yes all the “taradud” I did, refused a dinner to China Kitchen and it being a saturday evening sitting at home………….awwwww not fair. I had also missed last week’s episode but could not wait till the whole week to end so had watched it on utube. Well lets see what happens next week. Thank God Humtv is not a news channel so no threats of it getting banned. Well written !

    Reply
  3. Served an early dinner to hubby to see it uninterrupted but was so disappointed by the rerun of last week’s episode.I am sure its to increase the ratings of the drama.

    Reply
  4. thanks for being the voice of everyones sentiments. Stay put till next saturday….enjoyed reading it.

    Reply
  5. Thank you, all of you all.
    Wow! Humsafar IS phenomenally popular 😀
    I can tell by the number of hits on my blog since I put up this blog.
    Thanks again

    Reply
  6. i am really sad when i read the message that we are sorry for not showing the new episode of humsafer.i really like hum safer.

    Reply
  7. Great going!! Proud of you, my friend:) take care. When are you dropping in for lunch???? Promise, will pamper you:)

    Reply
  8. Ohhhh! I thought I would watch the latest episode on youtube this morning, since we were out last night and i missed my favourite play. Its Sunday morning, and I gave up the warmth of the bed, trudged downstairs to sit in front of my computer, and lo and behold! I got alerted to “this act of terror” through ‘Chaidani’s’ email. Farahnaz, let’s do a dharna in front of the said channel’s office!

    Reply
  9. Very expressive blog indeed. Good work 🙂

    Reply
  10. Farah,
    I agree with Rumana. I was tellling Khawar, Hum TV building should by pathraod. They believe they can play with the sentiments of their fans. Bohat ghumand ho giya hai. Huma

    Reply
  11. Love it! The sarcasm. The suspense. The wonderful rhythm of long and short sentences and most beautiful of all, the draaaaama in the writing is superb. Shared this with my family. Loved it! What a joy!

    Reply
  12. very well written Farah… after all we waited a whole week and what do we get a repeat … numerous sms were exchanged as to what had happened ..lol

    Reply
  13. Ismat Nazneen Khan

    Told my servant to leave the kitchen as the clanking of the pots and pans was an interruption,Nahiiiiiiin,yeh kiya!!!!!another week of waiting. I agree Humsafar has become phenomenally popular. The killer smile of Ashar Hussain:)

    Reply
  14. Yesterday was Umar’s walima (missed you Farah!! Somehow I was sure you will attend) so I knew I would not be able to watch the latest episode of Humsafar! it was a big releif to know that Hum TV repeated last week’s episode… Maybe I am the only person among Humsafar’s fans who is happy….)

    Reply
  15. Im not sad about the episode being repeated. What hurt me more is that it was Milaad un Nabi (saw), which comes only once a year,& it gives u another chance 2 learn at least some of the messages that the Holy Prophet(pbuh) left 4 his ummah. Instead of paying more attention 2 the auspicious occassion, majority if not all the ppl, esp women hv reacted as if the world has come 2 an end. It’s really shameful. U cn see Qirat & Ashar every week, it’s no big deal. But what about thereligious programme which r much more informative & if sincerely followed, would help us all in becoming bttr muslims & more importantly bttr human beings. No wonder the image &condition of muslims all over the world is so pathetic 2day. Im damn sure, no one is going 2 regret missing out the special transmissions which high light the seerah of our holy prophet(pbuh), ascompared 2 the regret of the previous episode of hum saffar being repeated. Was this the prophets message 4 his ummah?

    Reply
  16. Very well written Bhabi….Seriously u have spoken what we all felt…Humsafar has really gotten on our nerves..Keep it up!

    Reply
  17. Good work!

    Reply
  18. I think this was jus another way of getting popularity and hype out of the audience’s excitement…which they got from crazy fans like us 😥

    Reply
  19. Yes Hum Suffered! 😦 Very well expressed! 🙂

    Reply
  20. LOLZ hilarious ! most likely it was a free mason conspiracy … love that thought!

    Reply
  21. PLZ START 2ND PART OF HUMSAFAR PLZ PLZ……SOON…

    Reply
  22. PRODUCERS START IT SOON PLZ PLZ PLZ

    Reply
  23. Haha I so enjoyed reading this, it really made me laugh. I just finished watching this show on youtube so i got lucky didn’t have to wait like this. Loved the drama would like to read the novel if is translate din english as I am not a urdu speaker.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

